The Royal University of Bhutan to sign a Memorandum of Understanding with the Edith Cowan University


The Royal University of Bhutan (RUB) will be signing a memorandum of understanding (MOU) with the Edith Cowan University (ECU), Western Australia on 17th August to provide experiential learning opportunities and to promote scholarly cooperation between various schools of ECU and colleges of RUB.

The agreement will be signed by the Hon’ble Vice Chancellor of RUB, Dasho Nidup Dorji and Hon’ble Vice Chancellor of ECU, Professor Stephen Kenneth Chapman as per the approval accorded by Lhengye Zhungtshog.

Prior to the signing of the MOU, there will be a tree plantation ceremony at the Office of Vice Chancellor, RUB, to celebrate the friendship and collaborations between the two Universities.

A twelve member delegation led by Professor Chapman will also meet with the Presidents of RUB Colleges to discuss on future academic collaborations, exchange programmes, research capacity building and seminars on 16th August at Office of the Vice Chancellor.

To initiate partnership between the two Universities, RUB has facilitated 10 undergraduate students from of ECU for the two-week short-term study abroad programme in Bhutan.

The 10 students accompanied by the academic supervisor Dr. Caroline Vafaes will complete their educational programme on 17th August. They are placed in the Faculty of Nursing and Public Health under the Khesar Gyalpo University of Medical Sciences of Bhutan.