The Royal University of Bhutan sign a Memorandum of Understanding with the Edith Cowan University

To further strengthen the partnership between the Royal University of Bhutan (RUB) and Edith Cowan University of Western Australia, a memorandum of understanding (MoU) was signed on 17th August 2018 by the Vice Chancellors of the two Universities. This is as per the approval of the 157th Lhengye Zhungtshog in April 2018.

The objective of the MoU is to promote academic and scholarly cooperation between the various Schools of ECU and Colleges of the RUB on mutually agreed areas of interest. The provisions of the MoU give scope for wider academic cooperation and collaborations between the two Universities, such as building individual and institutional research capacity, Joint PhD Degree programmes, staff exchange programmes, students study abroad programmes, and Undergraduate programmes development supports.

In the opening, the Vice-Chancellor of RUB, Dasho Nidup Dorji said that the partnership we are forging with ECU is very ‘critical’ and we are looking at ‘true friendship and enduring partnership’. He also expressed that the pre-discussions held between the RUB Colleges and Schools of ECU would hopefully turn into realities and bear fruits that we would all cherish.  

The Vice-Chancellor of ECU, Professor Stephen Chapman also expressed his opinion that the signing of the MOU between the two Universities is a milestone and wished that it will nurture the excellent relationship that the Colleges of RUB and Schools of ECU have already established through face to face interactions. RUB already hosted 10 students along with one Supervisor from ECU for two weeks study abroad programmes in Bhutan who successfully completed on 16th August 2018.

In the morning, five spruce tree saplings were planted to mark the establishment of the partnership between the two Universities. ECU also donated Engineering textbooks and Media equipment to the RUB.

The 12 member delegates representing the School of Education, School of Arts and Humanities, School of Engineering, School of Business and Law, and School of Nursing and Midwifery from ECU along with RUB Colleges from Sherubtse College, Jigme Namgyel Engineering College, College of Science and Technology, Samtse College of Education, Gedu College of Business Studies and Paro College of Education witnessed the signing of the MOU.